7-Up Cake

7-up Cake
Photo Taken by: Nicole Ramos

My grandma would only make this cake for birthdays and the holidays.  Luckily, she shared this recipe with my mom, and then shared it with me.  Growing up, I never knew anyone else who made this cake.  So it became even more special to me.  In my little girl’s imagination, this recipe was a family secret and a treasure to hold.

I was fond of the times I got to help my grandma or mom make this cake.  I felt like it was a rite of passage, that only the worthy could behold the secret of this cake.  Honestly, they just needed extra help in the kitchen.  Nonetheless, the cake and everything that went with it during the holidays and birthdays, is what I miss and cherish about my childhood.  It was that feeling of family and togetherness which I hope to pass on that tradition someday when I create a family of my own.

Prep Time: Cook Time: Level: Serves:
30 min. 1 ½ hr. Intermediate 2 cakes

INGREDIENTS:

Cake:

  • 2 sticks  butter (softened)
  • 5 lg         eggs
  • 3 C          sugar
  • ½ tsp     lemon juice/extract
  • 3 ½ C      self-rising flour
  • 1 ½ C      7-up soda (1 can)

Lemon Icing:

  • 3 C          Confectioner’s sugar
  • 1              fresh squeezed lemon

DIRECTIONS:

  1. Preheat oven to 350⁰F.  Grease or flour a Bundt pan.  I prefer Pam’s Baking Non-stick spray, does the same job and less of a mess.
  2. Cream together sugar & butter.  Then add eggs & lemon extract.
  3. Whisk rigorously and fast, gradually add flour and 7-up alternatively, starting and ending with the flour.
  4. Pour half the batter into the pan to leave room for the cake to rise.
  5. Bake until firm and brown or until a pick slides out clean. (Approximately one hour.)
  6. While cake is cooling, whisk powdered sugar and lemon juice together.
  7. Drizzle Lemon Icing over cake and let it cool.
  8. This will yield two cakes

**Make sure not use an electric beater, this is a recipe where you’re going to have to use your arm muscles!  The electric beater, even on low speed will cause the cake to fall.

Leave a Reply

