Homemade BBQ Sauce

Photo Taken by: Nicole Ramos

I hardly barbecue anymore, which is a shame.  I always associate barbeques with grilling and being poolside, because that was what summers were all about growing up.  Now as an adult, I find it hard to find time to fire up the grill, especially since most of the time I’m cooking for one.  However, this summer has been a real treat.  I’ve been able to hang out around the pool and flex my own grilling muscles (which need some flexing, if you ask me).  The trouble with barbecuing for one is, you have all this leftover bbq sauce, and I never know what to do with it.  It stays in my fridge for months and I end up tossing it.  To my great surprise, I didn’t realize how easy and fairly quick it was to make your own sauce at home!

I love this idea, because it allows me to control how much I need to make and I LOVE the idea for fresh ingredients and fresh sauces without any added preservatives.  This sauce can be kept in the fridge for up to two weeks, so making it ahead of time is ideal for those of you on time restrictions.  This recipe yields about a quart of sauce and has a sweet and tangy flavor.  The next time I make this, I plan on adding some liquid smoke because I love sweet and smokey flavored bbq sauces.

 

Prep Time: Cook Time: Level: Serves:
10 min. 35-40 min. Easy 1 quart

 

INGREDIENTS:

  • 1 C          Ketchup
  • 1 C          tomato sauce
  • ⅔ C         brown sugar
  • ⅔ C         apple cider vinegar
  • ¼ C         molasses (unsulphured)
  • 1 TBS     butter
  • ¼ C         minced onion
  • 1 TBS     minced garlic
  • ¼ tsp     chili powder
  • ½ tsp     paprika
  • ¼ tsp     cayenne pepper
  • ½ tsp     salt
  • ½ tsp     ground pepper
  • ½ tsp     Coleman’s mustard powder
  • ¼ tsp     ground cinnamon

DIRECTIONS:

  1. In a medium saucepan, over medium-high heat, sautéed butter, onions and garlic until the onions begin to sweat.
  2. Add in all the wet ingredients, and then add the seasonings.
  3. Bring to a boil then reduce the heat to medium and simmer for at least 20 minutes, stirring occasionally. The sauce will thicken as it simmers (and then as it cools).
  4. The sauce will refrigerate for up to two weeks in an airtight container.

Leave a Reply

